About the Institute Board

Copyright c 2014 Child & Youth Care Worker Certification Institute, Inc.

The Institute is a 501(c)(6), non-profit corporation administered by a board of directors drawn from leading child and family service organizations in Texas, representatives of certified child/youth care practitioners, educators, and community consumer groups.

As of January 2014:

Executive Director:

Frank Eckles, CYC-P, Executive Director

Institute Board Members:
LaShonda Brown, Board President
Manager, Education Outreach in State Initiatives
Children's Learning Institute, Houston
Chair, Texas Early Learning Council
Representing: Early Childhood Education

Brad Brush,  Board Treasurer
Associate Director, Pathways Youth and Family Services, Arlington
Representing: Texas Youth and Child Care Worker Association

Lynn Lucas, Board Secretary
Vice Preseident Work/Family Division
Campfire First Texas, Ft. Worth
Representing:  Community-based Youth Development


Frankie McMurrey
Chair, Professional Development Committee
Texas After School Association, Ft. Worth
Representing: After School and Out of School time


David Thomas, Vice President
Executive Director, Bryan’s House, Dallas
Representing: Disabilities Services

  Institute Advisory Committee Members:   

Linda Ard
Chair, Early Childhood Specialist Program, Del Mar College, Corpus Christi Retired

Pam Baker
Residential Contract Manager, Texas Department of Protective and Regulatory Services, Tyler

Jo Ann Block
Superintendent, Jefferson County Detention Center, Beaumont  Retired

Diane Chase
After-School Programs Coordinator, Austin Independent School District, Austin.

Jeanette Jost
Chair, Chemical Dependency and Counseling Department, Central Texas College, Killeen.

Allaina Nelson
Program Specialist, Texas Department of Protective and Regulatory Services, Austin.

Lori Prince
Program Analyst and Training Director, Texas Alliance for Child and Family Services, Austin. 

Linda Rees ,
Behavior Management Coordinator, Texas School for the Deaf, Austin

Mary Reeve

Kim Schenck

Brandis Stockman

V. Ann Tubb , Research Consultant
Staff Psychologist, Department of Corrections, Big Springs

Kate Woodward Young